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WHY PAY EXTRA FOR A MEDICAL MARIJUANA CARD?

Many patients hire consultants, pay hundreds of dollars unnecessarily

Carson City - Patients interested in applying for a medical marijuana card can do so by working
directly with the Division of Public and Behavioral Health. It is as simple as getting a physician
recommendation and filling out some forms at a total cost of just over $100.00. According to
Patient Registry Program Officer Kari Ward, roughly half of patient applicants needlessly pay up to
$500 to consulting firms for this service.

Interested persons are advised to consult with their physician on the potential benefits of medical
marijuana for their symptoms. Nevada law lists a number of conditions for which a physician may
recommend the medical use of marijuana, including cancer, glaucoma, seizures, AIDS, post-
traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), severe nausea and more. Ten thousand medical marijuana
cardholders in Nevada are evidence that medical marijuana-friendly physicians practice here.

“When you can easily get a card yourself, it seems foolish to pay a consultant,” says Steve Gilbert,
Medical Marijuana Program Manager. “Why not save the money to spend on medicine?”’

To begin the process of applying for a card, patients should visit the Medical Marijuana Patient
Cardholder Registry webpage, http://dpbh.nv.gov/Reg/MM-Patient-Cardholder-
Registry/MM_Patient_Cardholder Registry - Home/. Under Resources, one can view and print
the form used to request an application packet. Application packets cost $25.00. For $75.00, the
application will be processed. Approved applicants ultimately receive a letter directing them to the
Department of Motor Vehicles to be photographed for their card. Currently, the DMV charges
$13.25.

The Division urges consumers not to be fooled by unscrupulous “consultants” who promise
“provisional cards.” These are bogus. Legitimate, registered medical marijuana dispensaries only
accept medical marijuana cards issued by the Nevada DMV or out-of-state equivalents.

Learn more about the Division of Public and Behavioral Health at http://dpbh.nv.gov.
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